title jpg.PNG

By Patrick Barlow

Directed By Rachel Edwards Harvtih

Gilbert Street Theatre, June 29 - July 22

WHO SHOULD YOU TRUST?! WHO CARES?! WHEN IT'S THIS FUN!

Mix a Hitchcock masterpiece with a juicy spy novel, add a dash of Monty Python, and you have The 39 Steps, a fast-paced whodunit for anyone who loves the magic of theatre. The Tony and Drama Desk Award-winning treat features over 150 zany characters played by a talented four-person cast and is packed with nonstop laughs, complete with an on-stage plane crash, missing fingers, and, of course, some good old-fashioned romance. This unforgettable play is pure entertainment, with a riotous blend of virtuoso performances and wildly inventive stagecraft.

Thanks to sponsors who supported our Summer Season!

Buy tickets.

Dates & Times:

Friday, June 29 at 7:30PM

HOSTED BY ANNA BARKER AND DEREK WILLARD

Saturday, June 30 at 7:30PM

HOSTED BY KRISTIN SUMMERWILL AND NANCY WILLIAMS

Sunday, July 1 at 2PM

 

Thursday, July 5 at 7:30PM

Friday, July 6 at 7:30PM

Saturday, July 7 at 7:30PM

Sunday, July 8 at 2PM

 

 

Thursday, July 12 at 7:30PM

Friday, July 13 at 7:30PM

Saturday, July 14 at 7:30PM

Sunday, July 15 at 2PM

 

Thursday, July 19 at 7:30PM

Friday, July 20 at 7:30PM

Saturday, July 21 at 7:30PM

HOSTED BY PAUL WELLER AND SARA RYNES-WELLER

Sunday, July 22 at 2PM

 

 

 

CAST & CREW

Richard Hannay: Matthew James

Annabella Schmidt/Pamela/Margaret: Jordan Arnold

Clown: Elijah Jones

Clown: Tim Arnold

 

Director: Rachel Edwards Harvith

Technical Director, Scenic & Lightning Designer: S. Benjamin Farrar

Assistant Tech Director: Merric Bower

Costume Designer: Jill Van Brussel

Stage Manager: Lisa Kelly

Assistant Stage Manager: Serena Collins, Ray Vanek

Board Operator: Franklyn Thomas

Special thanks to: Jennifer and Jon Whitmore

 

LOCATION

213 N. Gilbert St., Iowa City

Metered lot (free after 6:00 pm and on Sundays) is located behind the theatre; enter from Market Street. Limited street parking is also available.